Sweet Potato Breakfast Hash-Vegan, GF, and Nightshade Free

I’m eliminating nightshades from my diet for a little bit, to see if it helps with my joint pain/arthritis, as well as some digestive issues I’ve been having (which could be from too much dairy, but we’ll see).

Cooking gluten free, nightshade free, and vegetarian (because The Boyfriend doesn’t eat meat, and I avoid it most of the time) is kind of tricky, especially when you’re finicky like I am.

This sweet potato breakfast hash from Emily Levinson was a big hit with The Boyfriend, though. I’m sure it helps that he had worked and trained all day, then came home and dinner was already done and he didn’t have to do dishes. But still. He said it was REALLY good. I thought it was good too, but I wasn’t quite as excited as he was. I was really skeptical at first, because while I like sweet potatoes, I don’t like more than a few bites of them, most of the time. This is definitely worth eating again, though.

It’s vegan, gluten-free, and nightshade free. Well, mine wasn’t vegan, because I added ground beef to my bowl…but it’s vegan when left the way it is.

She posted it right as I started looking around online for recipes. How convenient! I’m so thankful. :)

I’ve been in a food rut. I’m feeling uninspired and…well…lazy. Having to think even more about what I’m going to eat and not being able to just grab things I have in the house because now they’re off limits, is forcing me to cook, even when I don’t want to. So far it’s been alright though. Two out of three dinner ideas I’ve tried have been great, and they’ve all been from her!

It will be interesting to see how the rest of the week goes….

2 responses »

  1. Glad you enjoyed the hash! It’s also good with an egg (if you eat them) on top.

    If you are looking for other recipes, all of the ones I post are nightshade free and dairy free. There are a good chunk that are also gluten free (more of the recent ones).

    Good luck with the transition. It can be a difficult one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

